Michaëlle Jean Foundation Shares Expertise at first annual Black International Economic Forum

On November 28, 2015, over one-hundred business leaders, professionals and students convened for the first annual Black International Economic Forum: Accelerate the Creation of Black Wealth.

Held at the John Molson School of Business, the event provided participants with an opportunity to begin laying the foundation for a economic strategy for Montreal’s Black communities.

Peter Flegel

Credit: Chris Roussakis

Key speakers included St. Michel-based millionaire and philanthropist Frantz Saintellemy, Griffintown real estate guru Theirry Lindor, TVA media sensation, Dorothy Alexandre, and co-founder of Québec Inclusif, Emilie Nicholas.

The Michaëlle Jean Foundation was invited to contribute by delivering a presentation on the ways in which cultural industries drive economic growth.

The Foundation’s Director of Programs and Communications, Peter Flegel gave a 10-minute talk entitled
“The Power of the Arts in the Economic Development of Black Communities.”

“Economic development can be conceptualized in many ways. Some, for example, see development strictly through the prism of GDP figures, without taking into account the broader human dimension,” Flegel explained. “At the Michaëlle Jean Foundation, we embrace a more holistic outlook. We see effective economic development as requiring a cross-cutting, long-term approach that recognizes the inextricable link between the economy and social as well as environmental imperatives.”

Flegel went on to encourage participants to apply an “inclusive economic growth” lens to their deliberations. The perspective approaches economic development from the vantage point of equity, which entails a fairer distribution of wealth as well as employment and entrepreneurship opportunities that level the playing field. He surmised that the arts—and more specifically cultural industries—can play an important role in that regard.

“Every year, cultural industries contribute $53.4 billion to Canada’s GDP (3.4%) while representing 4.1% of all jobs in our economy. In Montreal, the arts are even more significant, because they contribute 6% to the city’s GDP, pumping over $12 billion into its economy each year,” Mr. Flegel pointed out. “The greater Montreal area is in fact a pole of attraction, since 69% of Quebec’s entire cultural workforce is employed in the city.”

Mr. Flegel concluded by encouraging event organizers to conduct market research, which could provide a snapshot of Black cultural businesses and entrepreneurs. This could then be used to connect community members with key organizations and companies in the cultural industries. He also pointed to projects funded by the Foundation to demonstrate how the arts can promote academic achievement, entrepreneurship, employment and mental health among vulnerable youth.

To learn more about the Michaëlle Jean Foundation’s programs, follow us here.

Young Artist Recounts the Transformative Impact of the 2015 National Forum

This weekend was definitely a marker in my artistic career, but returning home forced me to confront a harsh reality…???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

I was invited to partake in the 3-day long, astounding Power of the Arts National Forum, created by the Michaëlle Jean Foundation and Carleton University’s Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences. And to say the least, every part of the experience was a source of inspiration.

I was able to meet with lot of “gatekeepers” and different people from the art world who care about artivism, social change and most importantly artists of different disciplines, backgrounds, careers, experiences and perspectives. I was invited to a prestigious cocktail party at an undisclosed and exclusive clubhouse-lodge type of place, and I got to meet some very wealthy folks.

I got to shake hands and give out business cards with people who, if I wasn’t a part of this conference, would have probably never considered giving me the time of day… I got to have great conversations with youth leaders and executive directors of grassroots and community organizations. They all shared great ideas around capacity building, leadership and the plight of the artistic community.

But after 72 hours of expensive wine and conversations, it was back to the 6ix [Toronto]!

Upon arriving back at Billy Bishop Airport and taking the ferry back to the mainland, I felt a sense of anxiety.

For the first time in a long time, I felt scared… Scared because I realized that I felt different, and I could feel the metamorphosis process beginning. I felt scared because I was unsure of where in that process I was at, because I’m damn sure I aint a flying butterfly yet. But then again, I wasn’t sure if that is what I am meant to become. I felt scared because I don’t know what to expect, and I wasn’t sure if I was ready for it.

For most of my life, I identified as being just a hoodlum – a thug – a drug dealer – the societal reject – a police target – the troubled student – the aggressive black kid with potential – another potential inmate for the prison or the cemetery. And for a long time, I carried that as dead weight. But for the first time, those identifiers felt like stepping stones – for the first time all of that felt like tangible tools.

So I realized – oddly enough – for the first time, I was sure of whom I was becoming.
So I was scared, because I felt blindly confident. I had a feeling of assurance in my heart that after all that refining and forging, I am ready to be gold. So I was scared because I realized that there was no going back.

That is not to say that I will forget where I’ve came from – because God knows my Mom is quick to tell people about her “baseball bat story” just to remind me how drastic her struggle with me, as a “terror from the public school era,” actually was. So I will always remember where and what I came from – to keep focus on where I need to go.

But for the first time what I (once) was, wasn’t as important as who I am, what I am doing and what I am becoming.

In Bruce Lee’s book “Striking Thoughts,” he says that “fear is not a sign of weakness but rather a sign of awareness.” From that I realized that it is one thing to be aware of something and it is another to be mindful of it. Which speaks to another quote from Bruce Lee that says “Fear comes from uncertainty; we can eliminate the fear within us, when we know ourselves better.”

So I think that my anxiety came from the shock that I that was no longer just being aware of change; now that I am mind-full of it, I am finally able to recognize “who I be”.

With all that said, I am looking forward to all the artistic things that’s gonna start happening (in the 6ix & in this country), because I saw so many people leave that conference this weekend more fearless and more mind-full of their individual artistic venture and initiatives than when they arrived… myself included.

Quentin Babatundé VerCetty, one of the artists featured in the Scratch & Mix Project: Empowering Black Youth through the Arts. 

The Foundation Keynotes at the Fresh Voices Award Gala in Vancouver

On October 2, 2015, over two-hundred refugee, immigrant and migrant youth, business leaders, elected officials, policymakers, artists and community leaders, gathered at the prestigious Terminal City Club in Vancouver for the inaugural 2015 Fresh Voices Awards Dinner.

Convened by the Vancouver Foundation, in partnership with the

Sajedeh Zaki Credit: Vancouver Foundation

Sajedeh Zaki
Credit: Vancouver Foundation

Multilingual Orientation Service Association for Immigrant Communities (MOSAIC), the event celebrated the contributions of inspiring young

immigrant and refugee leaders. The awards dinner was also part of the reception and launch of the two-day Youth Action Gathering (YAG), organized in partnership with the Canadian Council for Refugees (CCR). YAG brings together 150 immigrant and

Ruth Mesegna

Ruth Mesegna. Credit: Vancouver Foundation

refugee youth from across Canada to discuss and explore policy and systems change for newcomer communities.

The event offered the Michaëlle Jean Foundation an opportunity to announce, jointly with the Vancouver Foundation and TELUS, the winners of its 2015 National Fresh Voices Artivism Awards. The awards honour refugee, migrant and immigrant youth, who have used the arts and/or cultural engagement to tackle issues of concern to their communities. Each winner receives a $1,000 bursary to help them enhance their ability to improve quality of life within newcomer communities through the arts.

The highlight of the soirée was the keynote speech delivered by the Michaëlle Jean Foundation’s Director of Programs and Communications,  Peter Flegel. Flegel began by addressing the audience in French, pointing out that it is one of Canada’s official languages. He then acknowledged and paid respect  to the Musqueam, Squamish and Tsleil-Waututh First Nations, upon whose unceded territory he stood.

He then congratulated all the Fresh Voices award recipients by saying, “Through your achievements, you are shattering the myth—far too popular these days—that immigrant, refugee, and migrant youth are either burdens on our society or simply passive recipients of Canada’s benevolence.” “Quite the contrary,” Flegel exclaimed. “You are doers.

Peter Flegel

Peter Flegel. Credit: Vancouver Foundation

You are movers and shakers. You are helping to build  the Canada of today and tomorrow. As a nation, we all owe you our gratitude.”

The Director of Programs and Communications then spoke passionately about his own life, growing up as a racialized minority, immigrant and queer youth in Montreal. He discussed how the arts, his family, community and faith-based organizations as well as his public school, were instrumental in nurturing his potential, enabling him to overcome challenges and transforming him into a young leader. He described how the Michaëlle Jean Foundation was allowing him to use his love of the arts, community activism, and human rights,  to help underserved youth to transform lives and revitalize communities across Canada.

Flegel concluded by addressing youth in the audience, “Please believe in yourselves. Please know that no matter who you are, you can affect change. Please take advantage of the support offered by organizations like the Vancouver Foundation, MOSAIC and the Canadian Council for Refugees. They can give you the skills, the capacity and the contacts hat can enable you to fulfill your highest aspirations.”

Elissa Abboud Credit: Vancouver Foundation

Elissa Abboud
Credit: Vancouver Foundation

Audience feedback was substantial. Michelle Owusu-Ansah, a young immigrant from Ghana, exclaimed, for example, “I was really inspired by your life story and now I have collaborated with a very good friend of mine to start an initiative called Inspiring Canada which will inspire ideas, build capacity and sustainable development for youth.”

The Michaëlle Jean Foundation looks forward to continue collaborating with the Vancouver Foundation and organizations serving refugee, immigrant and migrant youth across British Colombia, to empower newcomer youth use the arts to improve their lives and communities.

You can meet Peter Flegel and Foundation bursary recipients at the upcoming Power of the Arts National Forum, taking place in Ottawa, between Nov. 6 and 8, 2015. To register, please visit this place.

Recipients of the 2015 National Fresh Voices Artivism Award

The Michaëlle Jean Foundation, the Vancouver Foundation and TELUS have announced the first recipients of the 2015 National Fresh Voices Artivism Award.

The awards seek to celebrate talented young refugees, migrants and immigrants, aged 14 to 24, who have used the arts and/or cultural engagement to address issues of concern in their communities. With $1,000 award bursaries, the winners have an opportunity to further develop their capacity to use a variety of artistic mediums to improve the quality of life within newcomer communities.

The award is the outcome of a partnership between the Michaëlle Jean Foundation, the Vancouver Foundation and TELUS. The jury selected three young changemakers in recognition of their commitment, determination and innovative initiatives. To see the 2015 recipients.

La Fondation Michaëlle Jean partage son expertise lors de la première édition du Forum international économique des noirs

Le 28 novembre 2015, plus de 100 leaders professionnels et étudiants issus du monde des affaires ont pris part à la première édition du Forum international économique des noirs : accélérer la création de la richesse des noirs.

Tenu à l’école de gestion John Molson, l’événement a permis aux participants de jeter les bases d’une stratégie économique pour les communautés noires de Montréal.

Des acteurs clés du milieu des affaires montréalais, de la société civile et des medias ont participé comme conférenciers à l’événement dont le millionnaire et philanthrope de Saint-Michel, Frantz Saintellemy, le gourou de l’immobilier à Griffintown, Thierry Lindor, l’animatrice de TVA média, Dorothy Alexandre et la cofondatrice de Québec inclusif, Émilie Nicholas.

La Fondation Michaëlle Jean a été invitée à prendre part à ce vaste chantier et à partager son expertise sur l’influence des industries culturelles sur la croissance économique.

Le directeur des programmes et des communications de la Fondation, Peter Flegel, a donné une présentation de 10 minutes intitulée
« Le pouvoir des arts dans le développement économique des communautés noires. »

« Le développement économique peut être appréhendé de diverses manières. Certains considèrent que le développement n’est rien au-delà de ce que peut en dire le calcul du PIB, que c’est une affaire purement comptable » a expliqué M. Flegel. « À la Fondation Michaëlle Jean, il nous a toujours paru important d’adopter une perspective plus large, plus holistique. Pour nous, le développement économique effectif exige une approche transversale et à long terme qui reconnaît que la croissance est inextricablement liée à des impératifs sociaux et environnementaux. »

M. Flegel a encouragé les participants à penser à la croissance économique en termes d’inclusion et d’équité. Il ne s’agit pas seulement de promouvoir la croissance, mais aussi de favoriser une plus juste distribution de la richesse et la création d’opportunités d’emplois et d’entreprenariat pour les individus issus de milieux défavorisés. Les arts – et plus particulièrement les entreprises culturelles –, a-t-il suggéré, peuvent jouer un rôle important dans cette perspective.

« Chaque année, les industries culturelles contribuent à hauteur de 53,4 milliards de dollars au PIB national (3,4 %) en plus de soutenir 4,1 % des emplois au pays. À Montréal, les arts ont un impact économique encore plus significatif : elles représentent 6 % du PIB de la ville, injectant chaque année plus de 12 milliards de dollars dans l’économie » a fait remarquer M. Flegel. « La région du grand Montréal est en fait un pôle d’attraction : 69 % des travailleurs du secteur culturel au Québec y sont basés. »

M. Flegel a conclu sa présentation en encouragent les organisateurs de l’événement à réaliser des études de marché. Cela offrirait un aperçu des entreprises culturelles déjà existantes dans les communautés noires et faciliterait le développement de partenariats avec des organismes et des compagnies clés du milieu culturel. Il a aussi donné l’exemple de projets financés par la Fondation pour illustrer comment les arts peuvent favoriser le succès scolaire, l’entreprenariat, l’embauche et la santé mentale auprès des jeunes vulnérables.

Pour en apprendre davantage sur les programmes de la Fondation Michaëlle Jean, suivez-nous ici.

Témoignage d’un jeune artiste de l’incidence positive du Forum national 2015

Ce week-end marque certainement une étape dans ma carrière artistique, mais le retour à la maison m’a forcé à affronter une dure réalité…???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

J’étais invité à participer aux trois journées du formidable Forum national : Le Pouvoir des arts créé par la Fondation Michaëlle Jean et la Faculté des lettres et des sciences sociales de l’Université Carleton.

Et c’est le moins qu’on puisse dire, l’expérience a été en tout point une source d’inspiration.

J’ai pu rencontrer plein de « défenseurs » et différentes personnes du monde des arts qui s’intéressent à l’activisme et au changement social et, surtout, des artistes de différentes disciplines, de différents milieux, avec des expériences et des points de vue différents. J’ai été invité à une prestigieuse réception dans un lieu tenu secret, une sorte de pavillon-club-house exclusif, où j’ai fait la connaissance de gens très riches.

J’ai serré des mains et donné ma carte professionnelle à des gens qui, si je n’avais pas participé à cette conférence, ne m’auraient probablement jamais consacré un instant… J’ai eu de super conversations avec de jeunes leaders et des dirigeants d’organismes populaires et communautaires. Ils avaient tous d’excellentes idées à partager sur le renforcement des capacités, le leadership et le sort de la communauté artistique.

Mais après 72 heures de grands vins et de conversations, c’était le retour à « 6ix » [Toronto]!

Dès l’arrivée à l’aéroport Billy Bishop et en prenant le traversier pour la terre ferme, je me suis senti angoissé.

Pour la première fois depuis longtemps, j’avais peur… Peur parce que j’ai compris que je me sentais pas comme d’habitude et que je sentais le début d’une métamorphose. Peur parce que je ne savais pas vraiment où j’en étais de ce processus, parce que je sais bien que je ne suis pas encore comme le papillon qui s’envole.

Mais encore là, je n’étais pas certain que ce soit ce que je suis supposé devenir. J’avais peur parce que je ne sais pas à quoi m’attendre et que je n’étais pas sûr d’être prêt à ce changement.

Pendant l’essentiel de ma vie, je me suis identifié comme n’étant qu’un voyou – une crapule – un trafiquant – le rebut de la société – une cible des policiers – l’élève en difficulté – le gamin noir agressif qui a du potentiel – un autre client potentiel pour la prison ou le cimetière. Et pendant longtemps, j’ai porté cela comme un poids mort.

Mais pour la première fois, ces identifiants m’ont semblé être autant de tremplins – pour la première fois, tout cela représentait autant d’outils tangibles. J’ai donc compris, assez bizarrement, pour la première fois, j’étais certain de qui je devenais. Donc, j’avais peur parce que je ressentais une confiance aveugle. J’étais certain au fond de mon cœur qu’après avoir autant forgé et raffiné, j’étais prêt à faire ressortir l’or que j’ai en moi. J’avais donc peur parce que je comprenais que je ne pouvais plus revenir en arrière.

Ce qui ne veut pas dire que je vais oublier d’où je viens – parce que Dieu sait que ma mère a vite fait de raconter aux gens son « histoire du bâton de base-ball » pour me rappeler comment elle a eu du fil à retordre avec moi, avec « la terreur de l’école publique » que j’étais alors. Je me rappellerai donc toujours d’où je viens, de mes origines – pour bien garder le cap sur mon objectif.

Mais pour la première fois, ce que j’étais (avant) n’était pas aussi important que ce que je suis, ce que je fais et ce que je suis en train de devenir.

Dans son livre intitulé « Pensées percutantes », Bruce Lee explique que la peur n’est pas un signe de faiblesse, mais plutôt de conscience. Ce qui m’a fait comprendre que c’est une chose d’être conscient de quelque chose et une autre d’y être attentif et qui m’amène à une autre citation de Bruce Lee qui dit que la peur vient de l’incertitude et qu’on peut l’éliminer en soi en se connaissant mieux.

Je pense donc que mon angoisse venait du choc de ce que je n’étais plus seulement conscient du changement, mais que j’y étais aussi attentif et que je suis enfin capable de reconnaître qui je suis.

Cela étant dit, je me réjouis à l’avance de tout ce qui va commencer à se passer sur le plan artistique (à Toronto et dans ce pays) parce que j’ai vu tellement de gens repartir de la conférence ce week-end plus audacieux et plus attentifs à leur expression et à leurs initiatives artistiques individuelles qu’à leur arrivée… moi-même y compris.

Par Quentin Babatundé VerCetty, un artiste de l’exposition Scratch & Mix.

La Fondation au gala des Fresh Voices Awards à Vancouver

Le 2 octobre 2015, plus de 200 jeunes réfugiés, immigrants et migrants, chefs d’entreprise, élus, décideurs, artistes et dirigeants communautaires étaient réunis au prestigieux Terminal City Club de Vancouver pour le tout premier gala des Fresh Voices Awards.

L’événement, organisé par la Vancouver Foundation, en partenariat avec la Multilingual Orientation Service Association for Immigrant Communities (MOSAIC), célébrait les contributions de jeunes leaders immigrants et réfugiés qui sont de véritables sources d’inspiration.

Credit: Vancouver Foundation

Sajedeh Zaki Crédit photo : Vancouver Foundation

Le dîner de remise des prix faisait également partie de la réception et du lancement du Rassemblement Action Jeunesse (RAJ) de deux jours organisé en partenariat avec le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés (CCR). Le RAJ réunit 150 jeunes immigrés et réfugiés de tout le Canada afin de discuter et explorer des changements à apporter aux politiques publiques et aux systèmes de gouvernement pour les communautés de nouveaux arrivants.

Ruth Mesegna. Crédit photo : Vancouver Foundation

L’événement a donné l’occasion à la Fondation Michaëlle Jean de remettre, conjointement avec la Vancouver Foundation et TELUS, les prix nationaux Fresh Voices Activisme 2015 aux lauréats. Ces prix récompensent de jeunes réfugiés, migrants et immigrants qui utilisent les arts et/ou un engagement culturel pour s’attaquer à des problèmes de leur communauté. Chaque lauréat a reçu une bourse de 1 000 $ permettant d’améliorer par les arts la qualité de vie au sein de communautés de nouveaux arrivants.

Peter Flegel

Peter Flegel. Crédit photo : Vancouver Foundation

Le discours principal prononcé par Peter Flegel, directeur des programmes et des communications de la Fondation Michaelle Jean, a été le clou de la soirée. M. Flegel s’est d’abord adressé à l’auditoire en français, en soulignant que c’est une des langues officielles du Canada. Il a ensuite salué les Premières Nations Musqueam, Squamish et Tsleil-Waututh, sur le territoire desquelles il se tenait.

Puis il a félicité tous les lauréats des Fresh Voices Awards avant de déclarer : « Par vos réalisations, vous brisez le mythe – encore trop répandu aujourd’hui – selon lequel les jeunes immigrants, réfugiés et migrants sont soit un fardeau pour notre société, soit tout bonnement les bénéficiaires passifs de la générosité du Canada. » « Tout au contraire, a-t-il poursuivi, vous agissez. Vous faites bouger les choses. Vous aidez à construire le Canada d’aujourd’hui et de demain. En tant que nation, nous vous devons toute notre gratitude. »

Le directeur des programmes et des communications a ensuite parlé avec émotion de sa propre vie d’immigrant, de personne racisée et de jeune homosexuel qui a grandi à Montréal. Il a expliqué comment les arts, sa famille, sa communauté et des organismes confessionnels ainsi que son école publique l’ont aidé à réaliser son potentiel et lui ont permis de surmonter des défis et de devenir un jeune leader. Il a raconté comment la Fondation Michaëlle Jean lui permet de mettre sa passion pour les arts, l’activisme communautaire et les droits de la personne au service de jeunes défavorisés, afin de transformer des vies et de revitaliser des collectivités dans tout le Canada.

Elissa Abboud

Elissa Abboud. Crédit photo : Vancouver Foundation

En conclusion, Peter Flegel s’est adressé en ces termes aux jeunes présents dans l’auditoire : « Croyez en vous-mêmes. Sachez que, qui vous soyez, vous pouvez apporter des changements. Profitez du soutien offert par des organisations telles que la Vancouver Foundation, MOSAIC et le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés. Elles peuvent vous donner les compétences, la capacité et les contacts qui vous permettront de réaliser vos plus grandes aspirations. »

L’auditoire n’a pas manqué de réagir. « L’histoire de votre vie m’a vraiment touchée », a ainsi déclaré Michelle Owusu-Ansah, jeune immigrante originaire du Ghana. « À telle enseigne qu’en collaboration avec une très bonne amie, nous avons lancé une initiative appelée Inspiring Canada qui apportera des idées et renforcera les capacités et le développement durable chez les jeunes. »

La Fondation Michaëlle Jean est ravie de poursuivre sa collaboration avec la Vancouver Foundation et des organisations qui servent les jeunes réfugiés, immigrants et migrants dans toute la Colombie-Britannique, afin de permettre aux jeunes nouveaux arrivants d’utiliser les arts pour améliorer leur vie et celle de leur communauté.

Peter Flegel et plusieurs boursiers de la Fondation seront au prochain Forum national Le Pouvoir des Arts qui aura lieu entre le 6 et le 8 novembre à Ottawa. Pour confirmer votre présence, vous pouvez vous inscrire ici. 

Les premiers lauréats des prix Fresh Voices Artivisme

La Fondation Michaëlle Jean, la Vancouver Foundation et TELUS ont le plaisir d’annoncer le nom des lauréats de la première édition des prix nationaux Fresh Voices Artivism.

Les prix visent à récompenser de talentueux jeunes immigrants, migrants ou réfugiés, âgés de 14 à 24 ans qui ont su utiliser les arts et/ou l’engagement culturel pour contribuer à l’épanouissement d’une communauté de nouveaux arrivants au Canada. Grâce à la bourse de 1,000 $ qui est assortie au prix, les lauréats pourront développer leur capacité à utiliser divers médiums artistiques et outils d’engagements culturels pour répondre aux défis auxquels sont confrontées leurs communautés.

Le prix est le fruit d’un partenariat entre la Fondation Michaëlle Jean, l’initiative Fresh Voices de la Fondation Vancouver et TELUS. Trois candidates ont été retenues cette année en reconnaissance de leur engagement, de leur détermination et de l’originalité de leur démarche. Pour voir les lauréats 2015.