Michaëlle Jean Foundation kicks-off arts entrepreneurship drive for underserved youth in Canada

OTTAWA—The Michaëlle Jean Foundation, supported by BMO and CIBC, is launching a national program to increase entrepreneurship and business literacy within underserved communities across Canada.

Entitled Young Arts Entrepreneur, the program is designed to help creative youth establish their first arts-based business. To be eligible, applicants must be aged between 17 and 30, Canadian citizens or permanent residents, and have experience working in an arts-related field. The program was designed with the assistance of the Canadian Youth Business Foundation to fill a gap identified by community youth and arts organizations across the country. To learn more.

Michaëlle Jean Foundation to visit Edmonton’s Jasper Place High School

OTTAWA—On October 25, 2013, the Rt. Hon. Michaëlle Jean, 27th Governor General and Commander-in-Chief of Canada, will visit Jasper Place School, where her Foundation is supporting an academic achievement and youth engagement project in Edmonton. The visit will take place between 10:30 a.m. and 12:45 p.m. at the high school located at 8950 – 163 Street.box2

Accompanied by TD Michaëlle Jean Bursary 2013 recipient Julia Dalman, Madame Jean will participate in the school’s 2nd annual Re-Skill Fair: a series of cultural activities with over 150 students, teachers, artists, and senior citizens, designed to transmit critical life-skills to youth. Centered in the school’s Global Café, the activities will highlight the unique and innovative ways in which underserved youth in Edmonton are being empowered to succeed academically and transform their communities through the arts. For more information.

La Fondation Michaëlle Jean lance son programme des Jeunes entrepreneurs culturels pour les jeunes défavorisés au Canada

OTTAWA— La Fondation Michaëlle Jean lance, avec l’appui de la BMO et CIBC, un programme national destiné à accroître l’entrepreneuriat et la formation aux affaires dans les collectivités défavorisées du Canada tout entier.

Le programme, baptisé Jeunes entrepreneurs culturels, vise à aider des jeunes créatifs à monter leur première entreprise artistique. Pour y être admissibles, les candidats doivent être âgés de 18 à 30 ans, ils doivent être citoyens canadiens ou résidents permanents et ils doivent avoir déjà travaillé dans un domaine lié aux arts. Le programme est mis sur pied avec le concours de la Fondation canadienne des jeunes entrepreneurs afin de combler des lacunes repérées par des organisations communautairesaxées sur les jeunes et les arts de tout le pays. Pour en savoir plus.

La Fondation Michaëlle Jean rendra visite à l’école secondaire Jasper Place à Edmonton

OTTAWA— Le 25 octobre 2013, la très honorable Michaëlle Jean, 27ème gouverneur général du Canada (2005-2010) rendra visite à l’école secondaire Jasper où sa Fondation soutient un projet de réussite scolaires auprès des jeunes à Edmonton. La visite aura lieu entre 10 h 30 et 12 h 45 à l’école secondaire, qui est située au 8950 – 163 Street.box2

Mme Jean sera accompagnée de Julia Dalman, lauréate d’une Bourse TD Michaëlle Jean 2013 et coordinatrice du Global Café de l’école Jasper Place. Elle participera à la Re-Skill Fair de l’école, une série d’activités culturelles associant plus de 150 élèves, enseignants, artistes et personnes âgées, dont le but est de transmettre aux jeunes des compétences essentielles. Les activités, qui se dérouleront dans le Global Café de l’école, montreront comment l’utilisation des arts, de façon originale et créatrice, peut permettre aux jeunes en difficulté d’améliorer leurs résultats scolaire tout en transformant leur collectivité. Pour de plus amples informations.