Jacqueline Desmarais (1928-2018)

News of the passing of Jacqueline Desmarais was received with great sadness at the Michaëlle Jean Foundation. She shared our commitment to the arts, to culture, to young people. To us, she was not only a philanthropist, but a true ally. Among the many talents she supported, see how many are now leading artists on the international stage. See how many festivals she once helped are now thriving. Jacqueline, who dreamed of singing as a career, allowed others to experience the dream and to surpass themselves.

We also want to honour her charitable dedication to the Sainte-Justine hospital, along with the philanthropic endeavours she and her husband, the late Paul Desmarais, conducted to endow universities, including the University of Ottawa, providing them with modern infrastructures.

Jean-Daniel Lafond, Michaëlle Jean and their daughter Marie-Éden, along with the team at the Michaëlle Jean Foundation extend our sincere condolences to Paul Jr., André, Louise, and Sophie, as well as to all grieving members of the Jacqueline and Paul Desmarais family, loved ones and friends.

Leave a Reply

Jacqueline Desmarais (1928-2018)

La nouvelle du décès de Jacqueline Desmarais a été reçue avec profonde tristesse par la Fondation Michaëlle Jean. Elle partageait notre engagement en faveur des arts, de la culture, de la jeunesse et nous avons trouvé en elle plus qu’une philanthrope, mais une véritable alliée. Combien de talents elle a su accompagner et qui sont aujourd’hui des artistes accomplis sur la scène internationale. Combien de festivals aussi se sont pérennisés grâce à son soutien. Jacqueline, qui avait toujours rêvé chanter et en faire une carrière, a permis à d’autres de le vivre et de se dépasser.

Nous voulons saluer aussi son œuvre caritative en faveur de l’hôpital Sainte-Justine et celle aussi menée avec son mari, le regretté Paul Desmarais, pour doter plusieurs universités, dont l’Université d’Ottawa, d’infrastructures modernes.

Jean-Daniel Lafond, Michaëlle Jean et leur fille Marie-Éden, à titre personnel, ainsi que toute l’équipe de la Fondation Michaëlle Jean souhaitent exprimer leurs sincères condoléances à Paul junior, André, Louise et Sophie ainsi qu’à tous les membres de la famille de Jacqueline et Paul Desmarais, les proches et les amis dans le deuil.

Leave a Reply