Michaëlle Jean to Pay Tribute to Citizens Making a Difference in their Community, during upcoming Calgary Visit

Media Advisory

OTTAWA—In her capacity as Co-President of the Michaëlle Jean Foundation (FMJF), the Rt. Hon. Michaëlle Jean will visit Calgary, Alberta, on November 17, 2011 to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the YWCA and to salute citywide efforts to engage youth as active citizens in their communities.

“I am delighted to return to Calgary to salute the many women and men who are striving to break the cycle of domestic violence, homelessness and poverty afflicting far too many women and children in our society,” said the Former Governor General. “I will also take the opportunity to meet with some dynamic young people, who are using creativity in the city to ignite social change.”

In the evening, Mme Jean will deliver the keynote speech at the YWCA of Calgary’s inaugural “WhyWhisper Gala.” During her address, she will pay tribute to the organization’s efforts to eradicate violence against women and to eliminate poverty. At 2:30 pm, the Co-President of FMJF will visit the Mission Cliff Bungalow Arts Centre for the discussion with youth. Mme Jean will also receive an honorary degree, at a special convocation ceremony at the University of Calgary, during which she will deliver a speech about the ways in which higher education sustains democracy.

Here is the itinerary of the visit:

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Special Convocation Ceremony at the University of Calgary

The ceremony will take place at 11:30 a.m. at the University of Calgary’s Eckhardt-Gramatté Concert Hall at the Rozsa Centre, 2500 University Dr. NW. The entire ceremony will be open to the media.

Visit to the Mission Cliff Bungalow Arts Centre

The discussion will take place from 2:30 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. at 2105 Cliff Street SW. Media are invited to arrive at 3:45 p.m. for the end of the discussion and performances.

WhyWhisper Gala

The gala will take place at 7 p.m. at the Telus Convention Centre, located at 120, 9th Avenue SE. The keynote speech will be open to the media.

For more information about the Michaëlle Jean Foundation, please contact Peter Flegel at 613.562.5468 or through email at pflegel@fmjf.ca.

For more information about the WhyWhisper Gala, please contact Jessica Moran at 403.589.2348 or through email at jmoran@brooklinepr.com.

For more information about the University of Calgary’s Special Convocation Ceremony, please contact Brooke Hunter at 403.852.5047 or through email at blhunter@ucalgary.ca.

-30-

About the Michaëlle Jean Foundation: The Michaëlle Jean Foundation believes that the arts are powerful tools to generate dialogue and ignite a sense of community. FMJF is there for and with Canadians, specially our youth, who use the arts to take action for a better society.

Young Canadians Given National Platform to Raise Social Issues through the Arts

Press Release

OTTAWA—On October 27, 2011, the Michaëlle Jean Foundation (FMJF) and EQ3 launched Generation Art, a national initiative that harnesses the power of corporate social responsibility to give Canadian youth a unique platform to raise awareness about social issues through the arts and to profile their vision of a better Canadian community in public spaces, stores, and even private residences across the country.

As part of the project, young Canadians, aged 15 to 30, will be invited to submit artwork that depicts solutions to social issues of concern to them. Selected submissions will be featured on an exclusive line of EQ3 products, proceeds of which will be reinvested in FMJF youth initiatives. With its emphasis on fostering corporate social responsibility that empowers youth, Generation Art will also help participants acquire transferable artistic and entrepreneurial skills through mentorship, networking and workshop opportunities with seasoned industrial design professionals from EQ3.

“Generation Art gives young Canadians such a wonderful platform to spark a national dialogue on what a better community and a better Canada can and should look like,” said former governor general and FMJF co-President, the Rt. Hon. Michaëlle Jean. “And I am delighted that they will be using their imagination and creativity to get their message across, because art has such a powerful way of igniting a sense of community and solidarity within a society.”

“Generation Art is a wonderful way of using creativity to build bridges between the generations,” said Foundation co-President and CEO, Jean-Daniel Lafond. “The initiative not only cultivates national awareness about the power of the arts to touch hearts and minds, but it also brings in a socially responsible company to help empower young Canadians to depict how creativity can uplift and even transform our society.”

“We at EQ3 are honoured to have this opportunity to partner with the FMJF and excited to open our doors to the many artists in our cities who have a message to share through their work,” said EQ3 President, Peter Tielmann. The vision to create a better Canada through Generation Art will make our showrooms a destination for artists who create, and a gallery for those who are searching to purchase home furnishings which carry this message of hope.

Generation Art is run jointly by FMJF and EQ3. More details about the initiative is available on the Foundation website, www.fmjf.ca. The submission deadline is January 10, 2012.

About the Michaëlle Jean Foundation: The Michaëlle Jean Foundation believes that the arts are powerful tools to generate dialogue and ignite a sense of community. FMJF is there for and with Canadians, specially our youth, who use the arts to take action for a better society.

About EQ3: EQ3 was established in 2001 under the direction of Peter Tielmann. Having grown up in Europe, Peter recognized the lack of modern furniture in North America. Today, EQ3 is a vertically integrated Canadian company specializing in modern living for everyday life with simple, clean and functional design. EQ3 currently has 10 locations in Canada, large-scale wholesale presence, and additional stores and studios around the world.

-30-

For more information about the Michaëlle Jean Foundation, please contact Peter Flegel at (613) 562-5468 or by email at pflegel@fmjf.ca.

For more information about EQ3, please contact Allison Forzley at (204) 988-5400 ext. 4414 or by email at aforzley@eq3.ca.

Michaëlle Jean Foundation & EQ3 to Launch Generation Art

Media Advisory

OTTAWA—The Michaëlle Jean Foundation (FMJF) and EQ3 will launch Generation Art: an innovative national arts initiative that will give young Canadians an unprecedented national platform to raise awareness about social issues that matter to them.

Foundation co-Presidents the Rt. Hon. Michaëlle Jean, Mr. Jean Daniel-Lafond, and EQ3 President Peter Tielmann, will unveil the project on October 27, 2011, in Toronto, at 1:30 pm, at the Remix Project, 201-2 Pardee Avenue. Young visual artists, youth leaders, and representatives of Canada’s artistic community will be on hand for the announcement.

Through Generation Art, young Canadians will share their creative vision of a better community with Canadians, identify innovative solutions and benefit from mentorship opportunities with seasoned industrial design professionals.

About:

About the Michaëlle Jean Foundation: The Michaëlle Jean Foundation believes that the arts are powerful tools to generate dialogue and ignite a sense of community. FMJF is there for and with Canadians, specially our youth, who use the arts to take action for a better society.

About EQ3: EQ3 was established in 2001 under the direction of Peter Teilmann. Having grown up in Europe, Peter recognized the lack of modern furniture in North America. Today, EQ3 is a vertically integrated Canadian company specializing in modern living for everyday life with simple, clean and functional design. EQ3 currently has 10 locations in Canada, large-scale wholesale presence, and additional stores and studios around the world.

-30-

For more information about the Michaëlle Jean Foundation, please contact Peter Flegel at (613) 562-5468 or by email at pflegel@fmjf.ca.

For more information about EQ3, please contact Allison Forzley at (204) 988-5400 ext. 4414 or by email at aforzley@eq3.ca.

Une nouvelle plate-forme nationale où de jeunes Canadiens pourront soulever des questions sociales par le biais des arts

Communiqué de presse

OTTAWA — Le 27 octobre 2011, la Fondation Michaëlle Jean (FMJF) et la société EQ3 ont lancé le projet Génération Art, une initiative nationale qui met à contribution le pouvoir de la responsabilité sociale des entreprises pour offrir à la jeunesse canadienne une plate-forme unique où celle-ci pourra sensibiliser par le biais des arts la population du pays à des questions sociales et afficher, que ce soit dans des lieux publics, dans des commerces, jusque dans les résidences partout au pays, sa vision d’un mieux vivre ensemble.

Dans le cadre de ce projet, de jeunes Canadiennes et Canadiens âgés de 15 à 30 ans seront invités à présenter des créations artistiques qui dépeignent les solutions aux enjeux sociaux qui les préoccupent. Les œuvres sélectionnées seront appliquées à une gamme de produits EQ3 exclusifs, dont les bénéfices seront réinvestis dans les initiatives jeunesse de la FMJF. Avec l’importance qu’elle accorde à la responsabilité sociale des entreprises mise à renforcer l’action des jeunes, Génération Art aidera également les jeunes participants à acquérir de nouvelles compétences artistiques et des aptitudes entrepreneuriales par des activités de mentorat, de réseautage et de formation en atelier avec des professionnels expérimentés d’EQ3 dans le domaine du design industriel.

« Le projet Génération Art offre aux jeunes Canadiennes et Canadiens une plate-forme formidable où lancer un dialogue national pour un pays où il fait mieux vivre », affirme l’ancienne gouverneure générale du Canada et coprésidente de la FMJF, la très honorable Michaëlle Jean. « Je suis enchantée de voir les jeunes mettre leur imagination et leur créativité à l’œuvre pour faire passer leur message et pour agir, parce que l’art demeure un des plus puissants moyens d’allumer le sentiment d’appartenance et de la solidarité au sein de la société. »

« Génération Art offre un moyen extraordinaire de jeter le pont de la créativité entre les générations, ajoute le coprésident et PDG de la Fondation, » Jean-Daniel Lafond. « Cette initiative aidera non seulement à sensibiliser tout le pays au pouvoir qu’ont les arts de toucher les cœurs et les esprits, elle mettra aussi à contribution une entreprise socialement responsable pour appuyer le pouvoir des jeunes d’illustrer en quoi la créativité peut inspirer et même transformer notre société. »

« À EQ3, nous sommes honorés d’avoir pu former ce partenariat avec la FMJF et très enthousiastes à l’idée d’ouvrir nos portes aux nombreux artistes de toutes les régions qui souhaitent transmettre un message par le biais de leurs créations, » affirme quant à lui le président de EQ3, Peter Tielmann. « La vision d’un meilleur Canada engendrée par l’entremise du projet Génération Art fera de nos salles de vente une destination pour les artistes engagés dans la création, de même qu’une galerie pour les consommateurs à la recherche de mobilier arborant un message d’espoir. »

Le projet Génération Art est mené conjointement par la FMJF et EQ3. De plus amples détails sur le projet se trouvent dans le site de la Fondation, www.fmjf.ca. La date limite pour présenter des œuvres est le 10 janvier 2012.

La Fondation Michaëlle Jean croit que les arts sont des outils puissants pour engendrer le dialogue et attiser le sentiment d’appartenance. La FMJF agit pour la population canadienne et avec la population canadienne, en particulier les jeunes qui font appel aux arts pour le mieux-être de notre collectivité.

EQ3 a été fondée en 2001 sous la direction de Peter Tielmann. Ayant grandi en Europe, M. Tielmann avait constaté le manque de mobilier moderne en Amérique du Nord. Aujourd’hui, EQ3 est une entreprise canadienne intégrée verticalement qui se spécialise dans un mobilier et des accessoires de style moderne, au service de la vie de tous les jours, grâce à un design simple, épuré et fonctionnel. La chaîne EQ3 compte 9 succursales au Canada, avec une présence importante comme grossiste et d’autres commerces et ateliers à travers le monde.

– 30 –

Pour plus amples renseignements sur la Fondation Michaëlle Jean, veuillez communiquer avec Peter Flegel au (613) 562-5468 ou par courriel : pflegel@fmjf.ca.

Pour plus amples renseignements sur EQ3, veuillez communiquer avec Allison Forzley au (204) 988-5400, poste 4414 ou par courriel : aforzley@eq3.ca.

 

La Fondation Michaëlle Jean et EQ3 lancent Génération Art

27 octobre 2011

Avis aux médias

OTTAWA — La Fondation Michaëlle Jean (FMJF) et EQ3 lanceront Génération Art, une initiative nationale sur les arts visant à offrir aux jeunes partout au Canada une plateforme sans précédent pour la sensibilisation du public canadien aux enjeux sociaux qui les préoccupent.

Les coprésidents de la Fondation, la très honorable Michaëlle Jean et M. Jean-Daniel Lafond, avec le président de EQ3, M. Peter Tielmann, dévoileront ensemble cette initiative ce 27 octobre 2011, à 13 h 30, au Remix Project, 201-2 avenue Pardee, à Toronto. De jeunes créateurs en arts visuels et autres jeunes de renom, accompagnés de personnalités du milieu artistique canadien seront sur place pour le lancement.

Par l’entremise du projet Génération Art, des jeunes de partout au pays partageront avec l’ensemble des Canadiennes et des Canadiens leur vision créative du mieux-vivre dans nos collectivités, identifieront des solutions innovatrices et trouveront des possibilités de mentorat avec des professionnels expérimentés en design industriel.

La Fondation Michaëlle Jean

La Fondation croit que les arts sont de puissants outils qui permettent de générer des dialogues et inciter un sentiment d’appartenance à la communauté. FMJF est là pour et avec les Canadiennes et Canadiens, tout particulièrement pour nos jeunes, qui utilisent les arts comme moyen concret pour améliorer la société.

EQ3

La société EQ3 a été créée en 2001 sous la direction de Peter Teilmann. Ayant grandi en Europe, M. Teilmann avait constaté le manque de mobilier moderne en Amérique du Nord. Aujourd’hui, EQ3 est une entreprise intégrée verticalement qui se spécialise dans un mobilier de style moderne, au service de la vie de tous les jours, grâce à son design simple, épuré et fonctionnel. La chaîne EQ3 compte 10 succursales au Canada, avec une présence importante comme grossiste et d’autres commerces et ateliers à travers le monde.

-30-

Pour plus amples renseignements sur la Fondation Michaëlle Jean, veuillez communiquer avec Peter Flegel au (613) 562-5468 ou par courriel : pflegel@fmjf.ca.

Pour plus amples renseignements sur l’entreprise EQ3, veuillez communiquer avec Allison Forzley au (204) 988-5400 ext. 4414 ou par courriel au aforzley@eq3.ca.